crafts

Tea

IMG_1663

In this post I will be sharing with you two of the new herbal tea recipes that I have been experimenting. Currently Im focusing on herbs that focus on suppressing stress, relaxing and good for the guts. While experimenting, I have note down my impression on the tea, the smell, taste and what it reminds me of, so here are two of the teas I’m loving lately:

  • Lemon balm, Lavender and Rose – A Cool breeze in the Lavender field

That’s the name I have came up with, and here is why; This was my first time trying lemon balm, it minty and has a cool feeling to it, not bitter but just perfect, accompany that with the lovely lavender! And you get that feeling. The rose has a really subtle taste and smell, I could only notice it when I was concentrating on it. So here the recipe;

  • Boil 2 cups of water and warm the jar you will make the tea in (by adding little water and swirling it to warm up, they get rid of it)
  • In the jar add:
    • 2 tsp lemon balm
    • 1 tsp lavender
    • 1 tsp rose petals
    • NOTE: all are dried
  • Steep it for 15 min and enjoy your tea!

The taste was very delicate, and surprisingly I felt really calm and relaxed, and here is the reason why:

Lemon balm aid Anxiety and depression which is good for relaxing the nervous system. As well as Lavender, since it acts on headaches, relives stress, anti-depressant and sedative. Top that with a hit of rose which is good for the blood circulation = makes a perfect tea before bed.

  • Lemon balm and Chamomile – Blues kick

Since I really enjoyed Lemon balm, I though of trying it with my favorite herb, Chamomile. I’ve named the tea “Blues Kick” because I found it really suppressed “sad” feelings and made me feel more relaxed. So here’s the recipe:

  • Boil 2 cups of water and warm the jar you will make the tea in
  • In the jar add:
    • 2tsp lemon balm
    • 2tsp chamomile
    • Steep for 15 min and enjoy

The tea had a sweet minty taste, which was lovely. Not only is this tea good to lift you mood, but also for your stomach! Chamomile has a ‘bitter’ effect which means it causes the stomach to produce digestive acids to digest (epically if you steep chamomile tea for 20 min~). In addition, chamomile has a calming and antidepressant effect.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and learned something new. I’m still learning and there is so much more for me to learn, if you have comments, or questions please feel free to do so, I will do my best to help.

Thank you

Leave a Reply

