simplicity and minimalism

The Minimalist Tag

Hello everyone,

In this post I will be answering a Minimalist Tag. I have been following an inspirational You Tube Channel called “Lavendaire”. And recently Aileen has made a Minimalist Tag that I found really interesting, and so I will be sharing it with you:

  1. What got you started with minimalism?

In the end of 2015 and beginning of 2016, I was reading two books (The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondō & The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin) which discussed the term “minimalism” and “decluttering”. I was so interested in the concept of minimalism since I am a very tidy, organized person, and when I knew there is a philosophy and a lifestyle that carry out the mindset of being simple and minimalism, I was just into it.

  1. What is your definition of minimalism?

To me, minimalism is the opposite of consumerism.  Minimalism is not only about consuming less, it’s about being grateful for everything that surrounds you. It’s about appreciating. It also means being at peace with yourself and everyone around it. Suppressing the loud noises you hear in your head. Minimalism is being thoughtful, to have deep understanding to what surrounds you, not being superficial.

Minimalism is leading a simple, natural, healthy lifestyle.

I just find it so inspiring.

  1. What was the hardest thing for you to let go of or the hardest area to declutter?

Since I live with my family and don’t own my own household. I’m responsible for my space (I try to spread the practice of minimalism around me) and for me decluttering my drawers and my book shelve is challenging. Since I would always, without thinking sometimes, put random items in my drawers or on the book shelve, and later own I would be surprised with the “junk” I have accumulated. So what I’m trying to do now is at least declutter these two areas every two weeks.

  1. (Skipped Q4.)What’s your top tip for new minimalists?

Start little by little. First of all I encourage you to read to read more about the topic (you can start with theminimalists.com) and once you start decluttering and simplifying your surroundings, I found reading and applying what I have learned from The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondō book very helpful. Of course there are tons of resource online (you can check Lavendaire channel, she has a whole playlist about Minimalism – she also shows many applications from Marie’s book).

I hope you found this post helpful. If you are adapting a minimalist lifestyle tell me about your journey. And if you wish to do this Tag, just make sure to refer to Lavendaire  channel ( if you will post your tag on social media make sure to tag #MinimalistTag )

Have a lovely day

Khawla

Leave a Reply

