simplicity and minimalism · Thoughts & Ideas

Tips on minimalism & thoughts

Hello everyone,

In this post I will be sharing with you some tips on adopting a minimalist mindset. Those are some of the steps I learned from reading and listening to various books and podcasts.

  1. Declutter one area at a time. The thought of decluttering may be overwhelming for many. It might feel too much pressure especially not knowing where to start. My advice, from what I have learned from reading The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, is to work on one area at a time, and give yourself enough time to declutter. Look at each piece you have; ask yourself: do I need this piece? Does this piece make me feel good about myself? Do I use it? And if yes when was the last time I used it? Do I keep it just because I might need it someday? After asking yourself these question you can either keep it, sell it or better donate it to someone who needs it. Use this way when decluttering all your possessions.
  2. Don’t listen to every desire when you go shopping. This is something I still (kind of) struggle with. When you go shopping stick with the things you really Don’t buy things just because they look nice. Things don’t bring happiness. It might bring a sudden spark of happiness, but trust me, it will fade away.
  3. Quality over Quantity. I’ve heard/ read this tip almost in very minimalist podcast/blog. It’s true. Think about it. If you buy really good quality products, chances are, they will last you much longer than cheap products that might get damaged faster.
  4. Experience over material possession. Whether its going on retail therapy or getting a gift, try getting/giving an experience. It’s more memorable, and it feels more personal than giving a store bought gift. For your next stress relieving therapy, try going to a spa or go out with a friend or your family, go on a ride, or discover a new place, rather than going shopping.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, if you are planning on decluttering, I highly recommend reading Marie Kondō book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, as it gives many simple and easy to practice tips on decluttering.  Also, check out The Minimalist podcast, a really valuable source to gain understanding about minimalism and to make your life more simplified and meaningful.

Remeber, minimalism is not about having less stuff, its about surrounding yourself with things that brings your happiness and serve a purpose in your life. Minimalism is about having the essential, doing things that make your life more meaningful. so starting with looking around at your possessions will make your look again at the life your leading.

I hope you found something valuable in the post. If you liked it, share it 🙂

And if you have other tips leave them in the comment box, I’m always ready to learn more about this lifestyle.

Thank you for reading

Khawla

Leave a Reply

