Mindfulness · Thoughts & Ideas

Setting goals

Hello everyone,

It’s almost New Year, and it’s time to set your goals. I personally never wrote a resolution. For the most part, during 2016, the one thing I wanted to achieve is making a blog and keeping it alive. Throughout the year I started putting more goals little by little, this way I’m not putting too much stress on myself for achieving a lot. so lets start 🙂

  1. Write it down. This is the most important thing. If you keep it in your head, it might as well die. write it and stick it in a place you can see every day (on you mirror, behind the door, on the refrigerator or print on a shirt (sounds like a good idea)).
  2. Be realistic. I don’t want to be pessimistic, but don’t set goals you know that you can’t stick with it (example: if you rarely workout, don’t set a goal of jogging for an hour every day. Your body won’t be able to handle the stress you put it through. So instead, walk 20 minutes at first, and then little by little raise the bar, until by the end of the year you will be able to jog for an hour.
  3. Don’t set too many goals. Instead set 2 or 3 goals, this way you can focus on them.
  4. Make time for it. This is very important, if you don’t give yourself enough time to practice the thing you want achieve, then why set it as a goal. Let’s say you want to meditate every day for 10 minutes before going to work. If you don’t wake up every day ahead of your scheduled to practice meditating, then make sure it won’t happen.
  5. Do it every day, or every week, depending on what you want to achieve and stick to it, until it becomes something that is embedded into your lifestyle, and you no longer feel it’s something “you have to do”. Remember, the most important thing is to do something you love, something you don’t feel obligated to do. It’s something for you, so might as well enjoy it.

So those are tips for anyone who want to set a new goal to achieve this year. I’m blessed to learn so many things during 2016, and here I am sharing everything with you. So you if have more tips feel free to write them down.

I wish for everyone a blessed new year. Just remember that if you messed up last year, you can make it up, every day, little by little.

Thanks for reading

Khawla

2 thoughts on “Setting goals

  1. Great post! I agree on all of this. I’m not much of a goalsetter myself, but I’ve learned a lot from the few times have tried. I use the SMART goal principles. You can probably google that and it includes many of the elements you mention here. I’ve not had mich success with goalsetting for years. But last year I came up with “reverse goal setting”. Basically my idea was to write down all of my achievements throug the year. So when 2016 ends I’ll have two of those list one for 2015 and one for 2016. If you like the idea you can find it on my blog. Good luck on your new years resolution and goals in general.

    Like

Leave a Reply

