book review

Book review: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Book Depository summary

A. J. Fikry s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over–and see everything anew.

My impression

This is a beautiful book. That is how I can summarize it. Many book Instagram-ers have been mentioning this book as a “must”. It’s a light and easy read. Unlike many books I have read, this book uses casual writing style. Something I am not very used to. It’s not very descriptive, which I wanted more of. And the story moves fast. However, I really loved how it carries on A.J’s story from early/mid-thirties into his late years. The characters are light and funny. The story brought out many emotions (I can’t remember the last book I ‘gasped’ while reading). And what’s more about this book is that it’s about a bookstore owner who loves to read.

 

 

Leave a Reply

