book review

Book Review: We are all made of stars

Goodreads summary

Stella Carey has good reason to only work nights at the hospice where she is a nurse. Married to a war veteran who has returned from Afghanistan brutally injured, Stella leaves the house each night as her husband Vincent, locks himself away, unable to sleep due to Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

During her nights at the hospice, Stella writes letters for her patients containing their final wishes, thoughts, and feelings – from how to use a washing machine, to advice on how to be a good parent – and usually, she delivers each letter to the recipient after he or she has died.

That is until Stella writes one letter that she feels compelled to deliver in time to give her patient one final chance of redemption.

My impression

I contemplated, whether I should or shouldn’t write a review of this book. Usually, when I’m halfway through a book and I start feeling that I should put it down, I end up putting it down. But for this, I thought I should just continue, just for the sake of the language and writing style. When I read the summary, I was excited, and it made me want to read it. However, I discover that the story is not from the point of view of Stella only because there is a second person. And there’s a third person too, and suddenly by the last third of the book another person pops up. I was confused. I thought maybe the writer didn’t plan on bring up more characters but later thought that she should.Honestly, the story was nice. It had a lot of events, and it was a page turner, for the first half of the book. However, I felt that the second half was dragging on.

Leave a Reply

