Thoughts about life

Shimmering stars


Everyday, as I wake up, anxiety  haunts me. It wakes me up, gently. It wraps itself around me. I weep. Unable to know what to do. Expectations holds me around my neck, telling me to do my duty. To carry the name I have, to do as expected from me.I beg, please leave me, help me. 

I’m I loosen myself, walk to my mirror and wear my mask. Covering the tears that slips my eyes, ignoring the burn I feel, the lump in my throat. I wear my mask, for the play I embark to perform, to show everyone that Im carrying the expectation I was given, proudly on my shoulders, like shimmering stars, proud. One day I will collapse, unable to raise again, unable to carry the stars that become undone. 

Leave a Reply

